Memento Mori – “Most Innovative and Ground-Breaking Documentary”, presentation at the Alberta Legislature

Memento Mori, which was filmed at the University of Alberta hospital in 2015, has been selected as the “most innovative and ground-breaking” documentary to come out of Canada in the last year. The film will be presented at the World Congress of Science and Factual Producers in San Francisco a the end of November.

Memento Mori will be broadcast on the CBC Documentary Channel this coming Sunday, November 26, at 9 pm ET, 7 pm MT, with an encore presentation on Wednesday, November 29 at 7 pm and 11 pm ET, 5 pm and 9 pm MT.

In recognition of this prestigious honour, the team behind the transplant film was  introduced to the Alberta Legislature by MLA David Shepherd, in early November.

Directed by Niobe Thompson and produced by Rosie Dransfeld (ID: Productions Inc) and the National Film Board of Canada premiered in Canada last year, and was also screened internationally.

MEMENTO MORI is an uncompromising cinematic journey alongside the living and the dying, filmed with remarkable access to one of the world’s busiest organ-transplant hospitals. In cinéma-vérité style, we witness the most profound experiences in any human life: moments of unbearable suspense leading to sudden and senseless loss, or the unexpected joy of a second chance. A baby, grasped from the jaws of death. A father, struggling to live for the sake of his daughter. The parents of a young man, thrust without warning into a tragedy that will test their humanity. With empathy and honesty, MOMENTO MORI transports us to a world few of us understand, but all of us are fated to someday visit. An arresting tour de force of observational filmmaking, both beautiful and profound.
%d bloggers like this: