Optimizing the use of increased infectious risk donors – webinar presentation by Dr. Atul Humar to discuss CNTRP guidelines and tool kit – February 16 or 23, 2017

The CNTRP-CST upcoming webinar on “Optimizing the use of increased infectious risk donors” might be of interest to you, and ATI members are welcome to participate.  This webinar is intended for Transplant Surgeons and Transplant Physicians across the country to develop an approach to using increased risk donor organs in their practice in a safe and ethical manner.
The CST and the CNTRP developed guidelines to optimize use of organs from increased risk deceased donors.  Led by Dr. Atul Humar and several other CNTRP researchers, these guidelines are published in Transplantation and were featured in the Globe and Mail.  These guidelines have been developed into a Resource Tool Kit, by the Trillium Gift of Life Network, to help all transplant surgeons and transplant physicians develop an approach to use increased risk donor organs and explain the risks and benefits to their patients. These efforts may lead to expanding the donor pool coupled with decreased wait-list times.

 To promote these guidelines and introduce this Tool Kit resource (which includes risk calculations, draft consent forms and patient scripts), the CNTRP is organizing a webinar for transplant Surgeons, Physicians and Coordinators to develop an approach to using increased risk donor organs.

 WEBINAR DATES: 

  •  Thursday, February 16 at 1pm PT / 2pm MT / 3pm CT / 4 pm ET – (60 min)
  • Tuesday, February 28 at 1pm PT / 2pm MT / 3pm CT / 4 pm ET4pm ET – (60 min)
PRESENTER: 
Dr. Atul Humar
CNTRP Project 5 lead and Director of the UHN Multi-Organ Transplant Program
This webinar will be presented twice and we encourage all to join during one of these two dates.  To register for this webinar, please contact David Hartell, CNTRP Executive Director at davidhartell@cntrp.ca
%d bloggers like this: