Archive | January 2017

The ATI is launching an Undergraduate Summer Studentship Award!

To apply for the ATI Undergraduate Summer Studentship Award, students should apply for the AIHS summer studentship program (deadline is Feb. 6), and also contact the ATI.

Full details on eligibility and the application process are available on our ATI webpage.

Save the date! The William H. Lakey Transplantation Lecture will be Friday, March 3, 2017

The Department of Surgery is hosting the Dr. William H. Lakey Transplantation Lecture
Friday, March 3, 2017.  8am-9am, Bernard Snell Hall.
Dr. Per Lindner, invited speaker from Sahlgrenska University Hospital in Sweden, will be presenting Grand Rounds on Uterus Transplantation.

Optimizing the use of increased infectious risk donors – webinar presentation by Dr. Atul Humar to discuss CNTRP guidelines and tool kit – February 16 or 23, 2017

The CNTRP-CST upcoming webinar on “Optimizing the use of increased infectious risk donors” might be of interest to you, and ATI members are welcome to participate.  This webinar is intended for Transplant Surgeons and Transplant Physicians across the country to develop an approach to using increased risk donor organs in their practice in a safe and ethical manner.
The CST and the CNTRP developed guidelines to optimize use of organs from increased risk deceased donors.  Led by Dr. Atul Humar and several other CNTRP researchers, these guidelines are published in Transplantation and were featured in the Globe and Mail.  These guidelines have been developed into a Resource Tool Kit, by the Trillium Gift of Life Network, to help all transplant surgeons and transplant physicians develop an approach to use increased risk donor organs and explain the risks and benefits to their patients. These efforts may lead to expanding the donor pool coupled with decreased wait-list times.

 To promote these guidelines and introduce this Tool Kit resource (which includes risk calculations, draft consent forms and patient scripts), the CNTRP is organizing a webinar for transplant Surgeons, Physicians and Coordinators to develop an approach to using increased risk donor organs.

 WEBINAR DATES: 

  •  Thursday, February 16 at 1pm PT / 2pm MT / 3pm CT / 4 pm ET – (60 min)
  • Tuesday, February 28 at 1pm PT / 2pm MT / 3pm CT / 4 pm ET4pm ET – (60 min)
PRESENTER: 
Dr. Atul Humar
CNTRP Project 5 lead and Director of the UHN Multi-Organ Transplant Program
This webinar will be presented twice and we encourage all to join during one of these two dates.  To register for this webinar, please contact David Hartell, CNTRP Executive Director at davidhartell@cntrp.ca

Save the Date – Alberta Transplant Institute Research Day will be Wednesday, June 7

The Alberta Transplant Institute will hold it’s inaugural Research Day on Wednesday, June 7, 2017.

Join us in the Katz Atrium and Mezzanine, and lecture hall 1080 for posters and presentations.

Josef Stehlik, MD, MPH will give the keynote address “Registry-based science – transplantation and beyond”.  Dr. Stehlik is an Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Utah School of Medicine, and serves as the Director of the ISHLT International Registry for Heart and Lung Transplantation.

Watch the ATI Website for more details on the ATI Research Day 2017.

Feb 3: Human Harvest Screening and Panel discussion

The documentary “Human Harvest” will be screened on Feb 3,  from 6-8pm, with free admission.

The event is hosted by the John Dossetor Health Ethics Centre, in collaboration with the Falun Dafa Association of Edmonton and Doctors Against Forced Organ Harvesting (DAFOH) and Citizens Against Forced Organ Harvesting, and will feature a screening of the documentary with a panel discussion to follow.

For more information, and to RSVP for your ticket, please visit their website.